My Woof Pack

How to teach an old dog new tricks and the rest

My Woof Pack

on November 17, 2013

Hello, and Welcome. I was lying in bed last night asking myself a million questions relating to my own pack. Who is the leader and who are the followers, what can I do more to achieve the best out of my dogs, what do they need, do I give too much affection, have I given them a good life – according to Cesar Milan, I have not! This made me wonder – have I been a bad dog mum all these years? Not fulfilling my own dogs needs – in actual fact, my own fears and anxieties have led my dogs to live the life I want them to and feel they need.
Ive been doing it all wrong and how do i overcome my own fears and anxieties? The more I keep reading Cesar’s Way the more anxious I have become and realised I need to do MORE for my dogs… So it got me thinking, is there anybody else out there that has the same fears and anxieties and more to the point – dealt with them and now have a well balanced, calm-submissive dog and became a more Calm – assertive human?

My pack consists of myself a  casual dog walker and vet nurse in training, my husband a full time tow truck drive, a dog – Rottweiler named Busta and another dog – Rottweiler x Lab named Milli. I love my family members dearly and will do ANYTHING to protect them from the dangers of this world, but I have come to realise i have in fact created some unbalanced dogs – mmmmm what to do now! By all means they are not BAD dogs, they listen (most of the time), sit and shake hands before meals, go to bed when told, sleep most of the day and guard our house with devoted loyalty BUT they have some issues all because of my own fears and anxieties and my husbands long work hours…. What are the problems you ask? Well according to Cesar Milan (and I know he is 100% right) dogs need a lot of exercise, I can not remember the last time i even walked them – which has led to some built up energy which I need to get rid of ASAP. My fear is leaving the house with my dogs and becoming a target for theft – i know i know it sounds crazy but if anything happened to them id be heart broken. I am also anxious, anxious about the walk, walking both of them, walking one then the other and leaving Milli at home on her own suffering from separation anxiety from not myself or my husband but Busta – im at a lost cause. Im a bloody dog walker and i cant even walk my own dogs?? what crazy nut case have i created in my own head? My husband works long and very hard hours so him coming on the walk is well not going to happen.

From my own fears and anxieties I have created 2 anxious dogs – Busta hates hates hates the posty bike – i think this may even be called “the red zone” where you cant snap them out of their focus – this I will have to work on… and Milli, my gorgeous Milli – has an obsession of licking , sniffing and nibbling all because she has built up energy and cant express it – my fault!

So its a new week you say, and I myself believe that this week will be the week I start getting my dogs to actually be dogs…. I am their problem! I need to change my energy first and foremost… so lets see what happens hey

Thanks for reading,

From one very confused dog owner!

Leave a Reply

Exposing the Big Game

Forget Hunters' Feeble Rationalizations and Trust Your Gut Feelings: Making Sport of Killing Is Not Healthy Human Behavior

The Vets Minion...

Tales of a Vet Nurse

Humane Society of Deaf Smith County

humanesocietyofdeafsmithcounty.org

Dog Leader Mysteries

saving dogs' lives & dog lovers' sanity

Rumpydog

Dog paddling through life...

bongodogblog

The life of Bongo

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

Fearfuldogs' Blog

Positive help for fearful dogs

The Dog Park

A view of life from inside the fence of the local dog park.

Big Dog Rescue

Giving big dogs another chance at life ...

Pets Add Life Blog

Celebrating Responsible Pet Ownership!

No Dog About It Blog

It's all about dogs!

My Woof Pack

How to teach an old dog new tricks and the rest

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

