My Woof Pack

How to teach an old dog new tricks and the rest

What do you want to be when you grow up?

on November 21, 2013

Image

I grew up believing I would be MANY things, a school teacher, a counselor, a business owner, a mum, a wife, a cat owner, a travel agent – you name it I wanted to be it, except I never wanted anything to do with dogs, ironic isnt it? I grew up with a fear off dogs, I did however owned a dog when i was about 9 or 10 named Ripper – he was there one day and gone the next 😦 thanks mum!! But I guess i just never grew up with them or was ever really introduced to dogs. So here I am aged 29 and about to start my studies of becoming a Vet Nurse. When I met my husband he owned a Rottweiler, talk about facing your fears, we then added Milli to our pack believing she was a rottweiler but we have since been led to believe she may be part Labrador! So anyway Milli was my turning point. I had never fallen in love with anybody as much as I had with her. She has shown me how to be nurturing, enjoy the little things in life, how to laugh at nothing and what it means to be put another first. So my love for DOGS grew. I started following a million dog rescue sites, watching dogs reunited on you-tube and now i find myself crying almost every day at the sheer lengths humans go to for dogs – good and bad.

So 2014 brings me a year of 2 years worth of study to become a Vet Nurse!! I never had a real goal, But thanks to Milli – I do now!

5 responses to “What do you want to be when you grow up?

  1. Good luck! Its a great job – and the dogs are nearly always super friendly 🙂 you learn pretty quickly how to judge a dogs character! Enjoy your studies, keep us posted 🙂
    P.S. you may like to have a nosy through some of my posts – I include tips and tricks for vet nurses… you might find something helpful 🙂

  2. Thank you, im just super lucky to have found something I love (even if i am almost 30 lol) i just clicked on your page and Its saying its not there. mmmmm ill try again

  3. I love your inspiriting and heartfelt story.

    Thanks for reading my blog. I am now following you, too, on WordPress.

    When I was a kid I wanted a horse. I loved every horse I saw and I loved all of our dogs, including the neighbors German Shepherd. Glad you are on your path to make your dream come true.

Leave a Reply

Exposing the Big Game

Forget Hunters' Feeble Rationalizations and Trust Your Gut Feelings: Making Sport of Killing Is Not Healthy Human Behavior

The Vets Minion...

Tales of a Vet Nurse

Humane Society of Deaf Smith County

humanesocietyofdeafsmithcounty.org

Dog Leader Mysteries

saving dogs' lives & dog lovers' sanity

Rumpydog

Dog paddling through life...

bongodogblog

The life of Bongo

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

Fearfuldogs' Blog

Positive help for fearful dogs

The Dog Park

A view of life from inside the fence of the local dog park.

Big Dog Rescue

Giving big dogs another chance at life ...

Pets Add Life Blog

Celebrating Responsible Pet Ownership!

No Dog About It Blog

It's all about dogs!

My Woof Pack

How to teach an old dog new tricks and the rest

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

